May 01, 2012

Wildrose names Official Opposition critics

EDMONTON, AB (May 1, 2012): Wildrose Leader Danielle Smith today announced the Wildrose Official Opposition critic roster.  “Wildrose campaigned on the slogan ‘new ideas that put Albertans first’, and more than one-third of Albertans rallied to that cause,” said Smith, noting that Wildrose earned more votes than any other opposition party in Alberta history on April 23.

  “Today, we are united, excited and emboldened by the strong mandate we have been entrusted with to hold Alison Redford’s government to account over the next four years.”  Smith said the Wildrose Official Opposition will work towards balanced budgets, saving for the future, fixing the broken public health care system, supporting families and seniors, and improving democracy, accountability and ethics in government.  Among the major critic roles, Rob Anderson and Heather Forsyth will return to their chief critic portfolios of Finance and Health, respectively. Anderson will also return as House Leader. Bruce McAllister (Chestermere-Rocky View) will be Education Critic, Kerry Towle (Innisfail-Sylvan Lake) will be Seniors Critic and Whip, Shayne Saskiw (Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills) will be Critic for Justice and Solicitor General, and Jason Hale (Strathmore-Brooks) will serve as Energy Critic.  “While we will not needlessly oppose the Redford PCs, we intend to use our role as Official Opposition to ensure that Albertans’ voices are clearly heard in the Alberta Legislature,” Smith said.   The critic roster in its entirety can be viewed here The Wildrose Caucus stands for free enterprise, less government, increased personal freedom and democracy.



Get Wildrose Party Updates